4 parties elected to new Parliament extend support to Govt

Author - Editor

The Government has obtained a 2/3rd majority in Parliament after four political parties that secured seats in Parliament in the General Elections 2020 extended their support to the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP).

The move raises the total number of seats obtained by the SLPP to 150 enabling the Government to secure a 2/3rd majority in Parliament.

The SLLP had initially secured 145 seats, including its National List, in the General Elections 2020.

Two seats secured by the Eelam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP), one seat each secured by Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Jaffna district candidate Angajan Ramanathan, Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) candidate Sivanesadurai Chandrakanthan and Leader of the National Congress A.L.M. Athaulla make up the 150 seats for the SLPP after the four parties extended support